EXPERIENCE THE TASTE OF TRUE HOSPITALITY
**our tariff is subject to change without notice and a minimum stay period may apply so please check with us
Our early Settlers Cottage was constructed circa 1850’s in the State Heritage listed town of Mintaro.
The original cottage consisted of just 2 rooms with a lean-to containing rudimentary kitchen & bathroom facilities – a ‘long drop’ dunny down the back provided for the other needs!
The first extention, at the turn of the century, added a further 2 rooms and side verandahs’ – kitchen, lounge (part of the B&B) and dormitory accommodation under each side verandah – we are told the Pulford family lived here at that time and housed 4 boys on the west and 5 girls on the eastside!
Further extentions have included the current B&B bedroom & bathroom, family room, office and bathroom/laundry, a large entertaining room and the old lolly shop itself.
To the back of the property, there is a Heritage listed stables complex (also extended in more recent times) comprising 3 ‘tack’ rooms built of local slate and stone – work in progress!
Our cottage used to be a part of a larger property and was originally the entrance to the Historic Fire Engine Museum, which housed fire fighting equipment and various old engines. An old Settlers Cottage next door was also open to the public but is now privately owned and occupied
There was also the Lolly Shop which traded at the premises in the 1990’s…hence the name of the B&B and most locals can direct people to us as it was and is well known and just 150 metres from the popular Magpie and Stump Hotel.